1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Reborn Foreign Football Thread

Discussion in 'Football' started by Blaarev, Dec 20, 2014.

  1. Jeff

    Jeff Administrator Staff Member

    That article was originally published 10 years ago, so he's probably homeless now.
     
  2. pork pie fox

    pork pie fox Well-Known Member

    The Old Lady is singing.
     
  3. pork pie fox

    pork pie fox Well-Known Member

    Although maybe not now.
     
  4. Motown Fox

    Motown Fox Well-Known Member

    It's getting interesting
    Could have been 3-1 then had it not been for the additional official
     
  5. Blaarev

    Blaarev Well-Known Member

    Did he save?
     
  6. Motown Fox

    Motown Fox Well-Known Member

    Well had he not noticed the ball touched Neymars hand on its way into the net the Ref would have gave a goal as I don't think he saw it.
     
  7. Jeff

    Jeff Administrator Staff Member

    Most refs would have given handball, but there's no way it was deliberate. If they're going to disregard the laws of the game they may as well just change the handball law to remove the bit about it being deliberate, but just say it's handball if you gain an advantage from it.
     
    bocadillo likes this.
  8. pork pie fox

    pork pie fox Well-Known Member

    Spot on.
     
  9. pork pie fox

    pork pie fox Well-Known Member

    All done now.
     
  10. Motown Fox

    Motown Fox Well-Known Member

    I agree. I was just mentioning the Ref might not have seen it and so the extra official was behind it being disallowed. But it was not deliberate that's for sure.
    As Naymar wasn't booked then the ref must have recognised that, but if that's true then surely he should have allowed it.
     
  11. Blaarev

    Blaarev Well-Known Member

    Not if he had an advantage from it, deliberate or not.
     
  12. Matt_B

    Matt_B Moderator

    I always thought that was the rule. Advantage rather than intent.
     
  13. Jeff

    Jeff Administrator Staff Member

    That's never been the case. It's always been whether it's been deliberate or not, regardless of whether any advantage is gained.

    A few years ago some referees were sent a document containing the following, to remind them: "The fact that a player may benefit from the ball contacting his hand does not transform the otherwise accidental event into an infringement"
     
  14. Jeff

    Jeff Administrator Staff Member

    Once again I will suggest that people download the laws of the game and read them. You might learn something.

    http://www.fifa.com/mm/document/foo...7_06_2014_new--lawsofthegameweben_neutral.pdf


    Some extracts:


    A direct free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a player... handles the ball deliberately (except for the goalkeeper within his own penalty area)



    Handling the ball

    Handling the ball involves a deliberate act of a player making contact with the ball with his hand or arm. The referee must take the following into consideration:
    • the movement of the hand towards the ball (not the ball towards the hand)
    • the distance between the opponent and the ball (unexpected ball)
    • the position of the hand does not necessarily mean that there is an infringement
    • touching the ball with an object held in the hand (clothing, shinguard, etc.) counts as an infringement
    • hitting the ball with a thrown object (boot, shinguard, etc.) counts as an infringement

    Disciplinary sanctions
    There are circumstances when a caution for unsporting behaviour is required when a player deliberately handles the ball, e.g. when a player:
    • deliberately handles the ball to prevent an opponent gaining possession
    • attempts to score a goal by deliberately handling the ball
    A player is sent off, however, if he prevents a goal or an obvious goalscoring opportunity by deliberately handling the ball. This punishment arises not from the act of the player deliberately handling the ball but from the unacceptable and unfair intervention that prevented a goal being scored.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2015
  15. Blaarev

    Blaarev Well-Known Member

    Either the rules are bollocks or the refs don't follow them.
     
  16. Blaarev

    Blaarev Well-Known Member

    Or both.
     
  17. pork pie fox

    pork pie fox Well-Known Member

    In particular, these bits annoy me about modern refereeing. There are many instances where, despite this being spelled out quite clearly above, they seem to play no part in decision making.
     
  18. Motown Fox

    Motown Fox Well-Known Member

  19. Blaarev

    Blaarev Well-Known Member

    Nice, but I doubt that game would have been allowed to be picked, according to BM rules.
     
  20. Blue Maniac

    Blue Maniac Alzheimers sufferer

    Sadly, I would have allowed it.
     
Registered users don't see these ads.

Share This Page