Please Help! Volume 3.

Status
Not open for further replies.

From Gradel to Grave

I'm still trying to get on top of the computer room at the charity I work for.

The computers are infinitely better and, after a delay, Office 2010 is installed. :icon_bigg

The internet keeps dropping. I have checked and double checked the wires and the filter. The problem is either the router or the broadband lines coming in I think.

I was hoping to confirm the router was the problem and when I attach the work router at home it won't come on. However, when I attach my home router at work it won't come on!

Should the green lights be coming on? Do I need to install something? Is the fact that the broadband suppliers are different the problem?

I'm a serious layman and any help would be enormously gratefully received! :icon_bigg

I'm still trying to get on top of the computer room at the charity I work for.

The computers are infinitely better and, after a delay, Office 2010 is installed. :icon_bigg

The internet keeps dropping. I have checked and double checked the wires and the filter. The problem is either the router or the broadband lines coming in I think.

I was hoping to confirm the router was the problem and when I attach the work router at home it won't come on. However, when I attach my home router at work it won't come on!

Should the green lights be coming on? Do I need to install something? Is the fact that the broadband suppliers are different the problem?

I'm a serious layman and any help would be enormously gratefully received! :icon_bigg

If you want a wireless adsl modem/router to use I would happily donate my old netgear dgn2000

Last edited:
If you've got Virgin or another cable provider at home then it won't work at work as I'm guessing from you mentioning filters there, you've got BT or suchlike at work?

Thanks for the help. :038:

I have Sky at home which comes through the phone line and filters etc.