Cancer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mawsley

I have been an overweight git without a bike but now I'm and over-weight git without a bike who is cycling 50 miles in order to raise money for a local hospice.

There can not be many people who have not been touched by cancer - to themselves, family or friends. We have lost family and (recently) a very good friend to this disease.

I want to raise money so that those who have to suffer in the future are well looked after.

http://www.justgiving.com/Mawsley

Screenshot2011-02-25at165128.png

Screenshot2011-02-25at171747.png

Just been asked who it's for:

I'm raising funds for the Cransley Hospice where my wife's mother spent her final days, and in the memory of a dear friend who passed away last month.

I was inspired by Eddie Izzard's marathon running and delivering gigs in self-taught French & German.

I'm completing the 50mile course in the Notts Great Bike Ride and then putting in motion plans to do something really idiotic (for a fat, unfit bloke).

I'm not a sucker for charities as a rule but cancer is an odious disease which robs people of happiness. I'd like to try to ease that suffering in a small way.

Woo. Go Big Society me.

As someone else said to me - this shouldn't have to come down to individuals raising funds...but it does so here I go.

And thank you so much to everybody else who has contributed so far, I'm bowled over. Thank you.

I've just tried to donate and there's a problem with the site - I'll have another go tomorrow :)

All the bloody best to you.

For some ridiculous reason this site is blocked at work - but I'm going to give it a go on my phone later.

Thanks peoples - I spoke to Diane, the fundraiser at the hospice, and she is delighted with you all.

She was quite enthusiastic to discover my plan to cycle from London to Madrid in 2012. Anyone fancy sponsoring me by the mile for that?