Car Insurance

Status
Not open for further replies.

KempsonFox

Right,I work in Insurance but not Motor Insurance so I just have a quick query.
I am currently a named driver on my mums Direct Line car insurance policy and borrow her car whenever possible as I can't afford my own at the minute.
Now my girlfriend has said I can borrow her car occasionally,which would be more convenient as we live together, If I get added on to her insurance (which is also through Direct Line) would there be a problem being a named driver on two policies?

Have checked through various websites and can't seem to find an answer.

Are you certain before I go ahead and do it.:icon_lol:

I agree with Dour. There would be no problem.

Be aware though that if you do have an accident or conviction, it would have to be declared on both policies; not just the one for the vehicle you were driving at the time.

DirectLine...we're not on any price comparison websites...oh no

that's because you don't want people to compare your prices....?

And me. They're the first company i've actually been with for two years running.

Had to drop them when they wanted to charge me more the 2nd year after accident free driving.

They were over £150 more when I changed cars last year, so I changed companies :)

The mrs has just changed to Kwik Fit. They were about £80 cheaper than the last company, and she also got a 15% discount card for any work carried out at one of their sites, and a free MOT voucher.

Going slightly off topic, but I have had AA breakdown cover for the last 3 years and every year they send a new quote and I go onto their website and do a quote as a new customer and found it is significantly cheaper.

I then ring up explain I have been offered a cheaper quote and then listen to them squirm as I explain it is FROM THEM!

Admittedly they offer me the website price, but what happened to rewarding loyal customers?