lcfc.com beats the press conference to it!

Status
Not open for further replies.

bocadillo

Water Gypsy
http://www.lcfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/News/NewsDetail/0,,10274~816204,00.html

New Chairman And Manager For Foxes

LEICESTER City Football Club today (Friday) announced the appointments of a new chairman and a new football manager.

Andrew Taylor, former Chairman and Chief Executive of McDonald's UK, becomes the club's new executive chairman in succession to Jim McCahill.

And Rob Kelly (pictured) has signed a rolling one-year agreement to be manager after successfully preserving the club's Championship status this season.

Both appointments will be unveiled at a press conference at the Walkers Stadium this morning.

A Foxes fan since the mid 1970s, Mr Taylor will assume the chairmanship from June 1. In the interim period he will act as deputy chairman to Mr McCahill.

Mr Taylor said: "It is a great honour to become chairman of a club I have supported since I was a student and I am delighted to announce that Rob Kelly has agreed to become our next manager.

"Together with the players, he has done a marvellous job for the club in preserving our Championship status and richly deserves his opportunity.

"I know that he can count on the full backing of the board, the players, supporters and everyone connected with the club."

Mr Taylor (48) is married with four children and as a season ticket holder is a regular attendee at Foxes matches home and away with his children.

Mr Taylor graduated from the University of Leicester in 1979 and began his business career at McDonald's as a management trainee in 1979. He was appointed Chief Executive in 1996 and Chairman in 2002 and left the business after 25 years in 2004.

Kelly assumes his new position after originally taking over on a short-term basis in succession to Craig Levein in January.