1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

On This Day.

Discussion in 'Leicester City' started by SJN-Fox, Nov 22, 2016.

  1. bocadillo

    bocadillo Water Gypsy

    Unusual to have both the gods and the linesman on our side at the same time.
     
  2. bocadillo

    bocadillo Water Gypsy

    We've been tied up in Nottingham for the past few days and I bored Mrs Boc with that story as we walked past the City Ground on the anniversary of the game on Thursday.
     
    lazzer and Blaarev like this.
  3. bocadillo

    bocadillo Water Gypsy

    I finished up walking back to the car in a bin bag for a disguise. The Pompey fans did think they had good reason for their discontent. After all they had earned 17 more points than us during the season (or was it 7?) and should not have had to face the indignity of the playoffs.

    Ha!
     
  4. Blue Maniac

    Blue Maniac Alzheimers sufferer

    12.
     
  5. Joe_Fox

    Joe_Fox Well-Known Member

    Was he? Looked ok to me.
     
  6. Miles Away

    Miles Away Well-Known Member

    Keeper was beyond him.
     
  7. bocadillo

    bocadillo Water Gypsy

    Linesman wasn't clear on the detail of the offside rule either.
     
  8. Blaarev

    Blaarev Well-Known Member

    He didn’t touch the ball though. When was the rule of interfering with play introduced?
     
  9. pork pie fox

    pork pie fox Well-Known Member

    :017:
     
  10. Blaarev

    Blaarev Well-Known Member

    Which part?
     
  11. pork pie fox

    pork pie fox Well-Known Member

    Ormondroyd touching the ball. It's pretty clear he does and the commentator even says that, too. Unless I'm misinterpreting what you're saying, which is entirely possible.
     
  12. Blaarev

    Blaarev Well-Known Member

    Looks like it’s the defender to me. But I’ve only watched it on my phone so I might be wrong obviously
     
  13. pork pie fox

    pork pie fox Well-Known Member

    Yeah it's definitely Sticks. It's not exactly HD, though, so I get why it might not be the clearest on a phone :023:
     
  14. Joe_Fox

    Joe_Fox Well-Known Member

    Hang on a minute, if the keeper is in front of the ball and there is a defender on the line, if an attacking player who is between the keeper and the last defender score it's offside?
     
  15. Blaarev

    Blaarev Well-Known Member

    Yes. Unless there are two defenders on the line ;)
     
  16. Jeff

    Jeff Administrator Staff Member

    To be onside you have to have two opposing players between you and the goal.
    Surely everyone knows that?
     
    Blue Maniac likes this.
  17. pork pie fox

    pork pie fox Well-Known Member

    The fact that one of them is a goalkeeper is irrelevant. If there are fewer than two opposition players, between the attacker and the goal line, they are in an offside position (not to be confused with being offside). The fact that there is normally a goalkeeper in one of those positions means that people tend to concentrate on the last defender. There could be two defenders (but no goalkeeper) between the attacker and the goal line and the player would therefore be onside, for instance.
     
  18. SwedeFox

    SwedeFox Well-Known Member

    We played in yellow ;)
     
    Blaarev and bocadillo like this.
  19. SJN-Fox

    SJN-Fox Well-Known Member

    Meanwhile on this day last year the groundsmen truly excelled themselves.

    upload_2018-5-21_11-9-18.png
     
    Blaarev, jb5000 and pork pie fox like this.
  20. bocadillo

    bocadillo Water Gypsy

    The linesman didn't.
     
    camberwell fox likes this.

Share This Page