Charity

Status
Not open for further replies.

enderby fox

Afternoon Tballers!

Just want a bit of advice if possible. I find out next week if i get a place to run in the Great North Run in September. I have been training for around 2 months and have lost 2 stone so far. Still got a fair way to go with the fitness but if i get my place then i'll start to hit the tarmac. If i don't get a place in the race through the ballot then i will probably go direct to the Charity to see if i can get in through them.

2 Questions.

1.) Anyone had any experiance or running a marathon/half marathon. What training did you do to prepare, would you change anything you did? Basically any tips, advice would be helpful.

2.) Did you do it for charity and if so who did you do it for. I'm leaning towards doing it for Rainbows if they'll have me but is there anybody else you could suggest who may benefit from the money i hopefully will raise.

Cheers peeps

That was before they changed their name to Snickers :icon_lol:
:tumbleweed:

:icon_eek: I won't tell her you said it, but don't bank on everyone else keeping quiet.
:018:

I think that was in her Lara Croft days :icon_lol:
I will never be allowed to forget....

EF - I have run a couple of half marathons, and I ran the London Marathon. The best thing I can suggest is to build up your fitness for the time being. You don't need to start running lots just yet. If you sign up to the Runners World website, you can select the option for the half marathon training newsletter. It is geared up for a race date around the time of the GNR, and will be sent about August time, I think. Each week it gives you a training plan aimed at your estimated finish time. If you are looking to finish around 2 hours or more, your longest run will be the GNR itself, but if you want a good, competitive time then you will be running longer distances (IIRC).